2.4 Timbre of the singing voice

Tonal characteristics of the singing voice.

The timbre of the singing voice is the most important characteristics in the vocal art.

Often it is called vocal colouring or vocal colour. We can easily distinguish familiar voices due to their timbre. According to the timbre, vocal teachers determine the type of voice as well the degree of singer's professionalism.

The first concern of a vocal teacher is the freedom of the student's vocal tract while singing. Freedom or a strained sound can easily be distinguished by ear. Professionals appreciate resonance, roundness of vowels, smoothness of the transitions between registers, sonority and flight power voice, low or high vocal position, vibrato, wealth of timbre colours.

Describing the tonal quality of the voice sound by ear, musicians are not rare to give it a definition of visual, spatial, tactile character etc., for example, a pouring voice or a straight as a stick one. The sound of voices can be: round or flat, soft or hard, sharp, bitter or dull, matte, metallic or cotton, disintegrated or collected, chesty or heady, supported or with no support, weedy, active or sluggish, lowered in position or just low, white, open, or dark, covered, tremulous, nasal, pipe-like, velvety, hoarse, shrill, strangled, throaty, uterine, etc.

The variety of the singing voice sounding is the result of different combinations and changes in time of only three sound parameters: the vibration frequency of the sound source, the oscillation amplitude and overtone sound of the very singing voice.

These three characteristics our ear perceives as height, strength, and tone of voice.

Vowel formants in singing.

The primary sound is produced in the glottis. It turns out that is doesn't correspond with the sounds that we hear in the space. This sound has no timbre, no vowel or consonant form. In the formation of familiar speech sounds, recognizable by ear, the main role obviously belongs to the oropharyngeal channel. Due to a change in its form and emergence of resonance effects it is exactly in it that the final formation of the form of sound and timbre happens. Each vowel has its oral and pharyngeal formants. Their presence in the spectrum of vowels, pronounced by different people and at different pitch, allows our ear to perceive them in this form. These formants are called formants of vowels that are frequencies mainly determining these vowels. The remaining overtones that are present in the speaker's or the singer's timbre create his individual colour.

Let's cite some examples of the oral and the pharyngeal vowel formants:

  • E - mouth cavity is small, vowel resonates at a high frequency of 3200Hz that approaches to the high singing formant and therefore is applied by vocal coaches for a high and light tone, and the pharyngeal formant is of 370Hz,
  • U the throat is widely stretched, so it resonates at a low frequency of 900Hz and is recommended by teachers for finding chest resonance; the frequency of the oral formant is of 400Hz,
  • O the pharyngeal formant frequency is of 1000Hz, the oral one is of 700Hz. The entire volume of the resonator becomes homogeneous, so singing teachers recommended that letter to be produced in a rounded sound,
  • Ah is close to the vowel O and has the frequency of 700Hz and 1000Hz,
  • Eh - 700 Hz and 1400 Hz.

The volume of the oral cavity increases in the sequence, E - Eh - Ah - O - U. The volume of the pharyngeal cavity is reduced in nearly the same sequence.

High and low vocal formants.

A classically trained voice can be referred as: bright, with lots of "metal" or "silver", rounded, soft, spacy, velvety. By analysing the spectrum of voice it has been found out that the "brilliance", "metal", "silver" are caused by the presence of so-called high voice singing formants, in other words, of the high-frequency region that concentrates 30-35% of the sound energy of the voice. For low voices, this high-frequency region is about 2,500 2800Hz, for high voices it is of about 3200Gts.

Vocal teachers have also the concept of the low singing formant in the area of 517Hz. The researches with the help of special equipment proved that this formant causes the thickness and the velvety character of the voice. A professional singer's voice is aligned due to the structure of registers and the ability to form the vowels in the way to preserve areas of high and low vocal formants. That's from the standpoint of acoustics can be explained by the phrase of Italian teachers: "Put the chest on the head, and the head on the chest."

The flight power of the voice.

The availability of high singing voice formants corresponds to the voice ability to go throughout the room, to fly over the orchestra. That is called the flight power of the voice. If we cut from the voice that high-frequency region, the voice will lose its lustre, become dull, distant, significantly reduced in strength. This high formant corresponds to the F4.

Radiographic studies of the singing process by professionals revealed that singers formed narrowing at the larynx entrance. The size of the cavity is 2.5-3centimeter, and therefore it resonates at a frequency of 2500-3000Hz.

High overtones appear in great quantities in the voice, if the singer uses a solid sound attack. If the attack is sluggish, the voice has an "disassembled" character.

Thus, the primary timbre on the vocal cords changes due to the resonance in the trachea, the larynx, the pharynx, and the mouth. Vocal formants appear in the pharynx and the trachea, throat and mouth form the vowel formants.

Acoustics also explains the presence of nasal sounds. If the soft palate is lowered, a channel is formed in the nasopharynx, absorbing frequencies of about 2000Hz. The absence of these frequencies in the voice the listener's ear perceives as nasal sounds.

The forward projection of the voice, directed at the viewer, depends on the presence of high singing formant. Acoustic shows that such sizzling sounds like S, TS, SH, CHTCH etc. have much higher frequencies in their range, so vocal coaches are extremely attentive to pronouncing of this type of consonants in terms of diction and a close sound.

Singing vibrato.

The timbre of the singing sound is firstly determined by spectral composition, and secondly, it depends on the vibrato. By hearing a voice with a natural vibrato is perceived as free and warm. When vibrato frequency is of 6-7 cycles a second all the sound characteristics change: pitch, power, and timbre. If the frequency decreases, the effect of " rocking" appears. If the fluctuations occur more often, it is said that the voice has a "lamb" sound or a "tremolo". The voice changes in pitch of about ½ of tone when applying the vibrato, it vibrates around the middle frequency perceived as the main tone. The voice of the child mostly lacks vibrato. The singers distinguish the vibrato of the pitch, of the tone (at the same pitch the sound character changes from a lighter one to a darker one) and vibrato of the sound power.

High vocal position.

The high position of the sound is associated with the ability to customize the functioning of the body so that the voice has the area of high singing formant and that there is a concentration of energy of the singing voice in this area. This concept can be defined as a physiological adaptation of the vocal tract for the maximum voice power but not many efforts. That is why the vocal teachers work primarily on the high position of the sound, not on its power.

<

2.4 Тембральная характеристика певческого голоса

Качественная оценка тембра певческого голоса.

Тембр певческого голоса – наиважнейшая характеристика вокального искусства.

Часто тембр голоса называют окраской голоса или просто цветом голоса. По тембру мы легко различаем голоса знакомых. По тембру вокальные педагоги определяют тип голоса певца, степень его профессионализма.

Первая забота вокального педагога — это свобода голосового аппарата учеников при пении. Степень свободы или избыточная напряженность звучания голоса хорошо воспринимаются на слух. Специалисты ценят резонансное пение, округленность гласных, плавность регистровых переходов, звонкость и полетность голоса, близкую и высокую вокальную позицию, певческое вибрато, богатство тембровых красок.

Характеризуя качество тембрового звучания голоса на слух, музыканты редко дают ему определения из области зрительных, пространственных, осязательных и других ассоциаций: например голос льющийся или, наоборот прямой, как палка. Звук голоса: округлый или плоский; мягкий или жёсткий; резкий, трескучий или тусклый, матовый; металлический или ватный, разваленный или собранный; грудной или головной; опертый или неопертый, худосочный; активный или вялый; позиционно заваленный или низкий; белый, открытый, или темный, перекрытый; тремолирующий, гнусавый, гудкообразный, бархатный, надсадный, крикливый, задавленный, удушенный, горловой, утробный и т.д.

Все бесконечное разнообразие, которое мы различаем в звуках певческого голоса, является результатом различных сочетаний и изменений во времени только трех характеристик звука: частоты колебаний источника звука, амплитуды колебаний и обертонового состава самого звука певческого голоса.

Эти три характеристики при оценке на слух мы воспринимаем соответственно как высоту, силу и тембр голоса.

Форманты гласных в пении.

Первичный звук возникает на голосовой щели. Оказалось, что он совершенно не похож на те звуки, которые мы слышим в пространстве. У этого звука нет ни тембра, ни формы гласного или согласного. В формировании привычных речевых звуков, узнаваемых на слух, явно главная роль принадлежит ротоглоточному каналу. Именно в нем – благодаря изменению его формы и проявлению резонансных эффектов – и происходит окончательное формирование формы звуков и их тембра. Каждая гласная имеет ротовую и глоточную форманты. Их присутствие в спектре гласных, которые произносят разные люди и на разной высоте тона, и дает возможность нашему уху воспринимать их именно в такой форме. Эти форманты принято называть формантами гласных, то есть главными, определяющими эти гласные частотами. Остальные обертоны, присутствующие в тембре голоса говорящего или поющего, составляют его индивидуальную краску.

Приведем примеры ротовой и глоточной формант гласных:

  • и – полость рта мала, гласная резонирует на высокой частоте 3200Гц, которая приближается к высокой певческой форманте и потому применяется вокальными педагогами для высокого светлого тона, глоточная форманта – 370Гц,
  • у – глотка широко растягивается, поэтому резонирует на низкой частоте – 900Гц и рекомендуется педагогами для нахождения грудного резонирования, частота ротовой форманты – 400Гц,
  • о – частота глоточной форманты – 1000Гц, ротовой – 700Гц. Весь объем рупора становится как бы однородным, поэтому педагоги по вокалу рекомендуют эту букву для выработки округлого звука,
  • а – близка к гласной о, имеет частоты соответственно 700Гц и 1000Гц,
  • е — 700 Гц и 1400 Гц.

Объем ротовой полости увеличивается в последовательности: и – е – а – о – у. Объем глоточной полости уменьшается примерно в той же последовательности.

Высокая и низкая певческие форманты.

К профессиональному академическому голосу применимы следующие определения: звучит ярко, с большим количеством «металла» или «серебра», округло, мягко, объемно, с «бархатом». Путем анализа спектра голоса удалось установить, что «блеск», «металличность», «серебристость» определяется наличием в голосе так называемой высокой певческой форманты, т. е. наличием высокочастотной области, в которой сосредоточено 30-35% звуковой энергии голоса. Для низких голосов эта высокочастотная область находится около 2500-2800Гц, для высоких голосов – 3200Гц.

В вокальной педагогике существует также понятие низкой певческой форманты в области 517Гц. С помощью аппаратуры было определено, что от этой формантной области зависит «мясистость», «бархатистость» голоса. У профессионального певца голос выровнен с точки зрения регистрового строения и умения формировать гласные так, чтобы сохранялись области высокой и низкой певческих формант. Вот так с позиций акустики можно объяснить тезис итальянских педагогов: «Ставь грудь на голова, голова – на грудь».

Полетность.

От наличия высоких певческих формант зависит способность голоса пробивать зал, перелетать через оркестр – полетность голоса. Если с помощью приборов вырезать из голоса эту высокочастотную область, то голос теряет блеск, становится глухим, далеким, заметно уменьшается по силе. Эта высокая форманта соответствует фа четвертой октавы.

Рентгенологические исследования процесса пения профессионалов показали, что у певца образуется сужение при входе в гортань. Размер этой полости равен 2,5-3см, и соответственно она резонирует на частоте 2500-3000Гц.

Высоких обертонов много бывает и в голосе, когда певец применяет твердую атаку. Если атака вялая, то голос носит «несобранный» характер.

Итак, первичный тембр, возникающий на голосовых связках, изменяется за счет резонанса в трахее, гортани, глотке, рту. В трахее и гортани оформляются певческие форманты, в глотке и во рту – форманты гласных.

Акустика также объясняет наличие носового призвука. Если мягкое нёбо опущено, то в носоглотке образуется канал, в котором поглощаются частоты порядка 2000Гц. Отсутствие этих частот в голосе и воспринимается ухом слушающего как носовой призвук.

Направленность певческого голоса вперед, на зрителя, зависит от наличия в нем высокой певческой форманты. Акустика показывает, что такие шипящие, как с, ц, ш, щ и др., имеют в своем спектре много высоких частот, поэтому в вокальной педагогике уделяется особое внимание произнесению согласных такого типа с точки зрения дикции и близкого звука.

Певческое вибрато.

Тембр певческого звука определяется спектральным составом, во-первых, а во-вторых, он зависит от вибрато. На слух при наличии естественного вибрато голос воспринимается свободно льющимся, теплым. При вибрато с частотой 6-7 колебаний в секунду меняются все характеристики звука: высота, сила, тембр. При более редких пульсациях в голосе появляется эффект «качки». При более частых колебаниях говорят, что в голосе слышится «барашек» или «тремоляция». Голос в процессе вибрато изменяется по высоте на 1/2 тона, т.е. он вибрирует около средней частоты, которая воспринимается как основной тон. В голосе ребенка вибрато слабо выражено. Различают вибрато высоты, тембра (т.е. на одной и той же высоте характер звука изменяется от более светлого к более темному) и вибрато силы звука.

О высокой позиции.

С умением настраивать работу организма так, чтобы в голосе возникала область высокой певческой форманты и именно в ней шла концентрация энергии певческого голоса, связана высокая позиция звука. Это понятие можно определить как физиологическое приспособление голосового аппарата для получения максимальной силы звучания голоса при минимальных затратах энергии. Именно поэтому устремления педагогов по вокалу таковы, что они работают в первую очередь над высокой позицией звука, а не над его силой.

<