The concept of "singing in the mask"

By this expression we usually mean the singing that uses all the upper resonators (in the head), singing in a high position of the sound, which is its upper support, while breathing is the lower support of the sound.

Our simple exercises can help to feel where these cavities are located, how to reach them.

The vocal coach Vitt said: "The main point of vocal placement is the ability to project the sound "to the mask "and to keep it there, placing it at the base of the upper incisors ... The sound of singing "in the mask "has to be expressed so clearly, that it can be what is called "seen" as he hits the roots of the upper incisors. The further is the point of pressure on the hard palate, the less brilliant is the character of the sound the more the voice is muffled, the greater is the opportunity to "place it in the throat."

Some old school Italian singing teachers recommend such exercises to experience the "mask":

- In a comfortable tone sing the "m", "n", "v" sound; feeling the vibration in the nasal bridge, on your lips, upper teeth, you should sense a free wide throat. If the tongue is tense, raised, then these feelings cannot be reached. At first, this exercise is done with an open mouth, it is a "n-sounding" and then with closed a "m-sounding."

These exercises help to get rid of guttural sound, and they had been put into practice as the "n-sounding" and the "m-sounding."

The "m-sounding" exercises help to project the sound forward: you should pronounce syllables ma, mi, mo, mu, concentrating the sound "m" in the mask (you should feel the tickling in the upper lip, in the root zone of the upper teeth) and the following vowel sound without changing of sensations and sound direction, as well as and its power. My throat should not cause any stress. The work begins with a vowel sound easy, of course, all very individual.

<

Понятие «петь в маску»

Это выражение подразумевает пение с полным использованием верхних резонаторов (головных), пение в высокой звуковой позиции, которая является верхней опорой звука, в то время как дыхание - нижняя опора звука.

Наши простые упражнения помогут ощутить, где эти полости располагаются, как до них добраться.

Интересны высказывания педагога Витта по этому поводу: "Вся суть постановки голоса заключается в умении направить звук "в маску" и удержать его там, уперев у корня верхних резцов... Звук "в маске" настолько ярко должен быть выражен, чтобы его можно было, что называется "видеть" как он бьет в корни верхних резцов. Чем дальше будет отодвигаться точка упора в твердое небо, тем менее блестящим будет сам по себе характер звука – тем глуше будет голос, тем большая возможность "посадить звук на горло".

Старые итальянские педагоги для ощущения "маски" рекомендовали такие упражнения:

  • на удобном тоне напевать звуки "м", "н", "в", ощущая вибрации в переносице, на губах, на верхних зубах и полную свободу широкой глотки. Если корень языка напряжен, поднят, то этих ощущений не возникает. Первый раз это упражнение делается с открытым ртом – "нычание", а потом с закрытым – "мычание".

Эти упражнения помогают освободиться от горлового звучания, они так и вошли в практику под названием "нычание" и "мычание".

Выдвижению звука помогают упражнения на принципе мычания: произнести слог ма, ми, мо, му, концентрируя звук "м" в маске (щекотание верхней губы, зоны корней верхних зубов) и последующего гласного звука без изменения ощущений и направления потока звука и его энергии. В горле не должно возникать никакого напряжения. Работа начинается с самого удобного гласного звука, конечно, все очень индивидуально.

<