1.4.3 Sound Attack

Attack (from Old English word attaque - assault) in vocal technique means the beginning of sound, i.e. the initial moment of interaction of the vocal cords and the breathing.

There are following types of the sound attack:

the very hard (explosive) one: a strong push of the air from under the vocal folds causes the vocal folds interlock denser and deeper;

the solid one: the subglottic air breaks tightly closed vocal folds under the remained pressure and causes them to vibrate with most of their mass.

the soft one: a relatively light contact of vocal folds at the time of the sound;

the very soft (aspirated) one that occurs with an incomplete closing of vocal folds, because there is a certain amount of air between them.

There is not and cannot be the only one correct sound attack, as there are many ways to start the sound according to the nature of the performed artwork. However, the sound attack with a strong push of voice is itself harmful to it and should be used carefully and as little as possible. Sometimes it is required by the emotional state of the roles in Russian operas, or dramatic parts, especially in verists operas (by Leoncavallo, Puccini, Mascagni, Giordano, etc.), but the singer must be able to apply this manner without damaging his voice. In all cases the flow of sound should be soft, with no forceful pressure. Of course, this should not be confused with weak sound, which is often due to illness or lack of singing tone. Nor beginning with the staccato can be confused with a harsh sound attack because these techniques are different. It is very important to start exactly and to intonate the note purely. Many singers, not only famateurs and students, but also experienced professionals, have such a sin - an "unclean" and inaccurate tone. Here are three main cases of wrong intonation:

1) A note "slides" up or down, usually down at its very beginning.

2) A note is immediately taken unclean.

3) The singer cannot get on key instantly, and before taking the note he touches slightly some other ones as a grace note or a quick approach.

You should "fight" with a dirty", inaccurate sound from the very beginning of taking lessons. Imprecise intonation is more common in the top notes, so you should first obtain the exact sound in the midrange, gradually expanding it as a whole. Often an inaccurate sound can be a result of forcing, so it stops immediately when there is no forcing. Sometimes it is the result of a sluggish sound formation. In all cases you have to understand the reason first, and then you can choose a method to correct it.

But you should be used to a clear sound attack in the larynx, so you should control yourself. In maintaining a stable precision of the voice tone the proper formation of the sound and the tuning of vocal tract are equally important.

<

1.4.3 Атака звука

Атака (да. attaque - нападение) - в вокальной методике означает начало звука, т.е. начальный момент взаимодействия голосовых связок и дыхания.

Выделяют следующие типы атаки звука:

очень твердая (взрывная) сильный толчок подскладочного воздуха рефлекторно заставляет голосовые складки смыкаться плотнее и глубже;

твердая - подскладочный воздух под действием избыточного давления прорывает плотно сомкнутые голосовые складки и заставляет их колебаться большей своей массой.

мягкая - относительно легкое соприкосновение голосовых складок в момент возникновения звука;

очень мягкая (придыхательная) - возникает при неполном смыкании голосовых складок, между которыми в первый момент проходит какая-то порция воздуха.

Какой-либо единственно правильной атаки звука нет и не может быть, так как есть много способов начала звука, диктуемых характером исполняемого произведения. Однако атака звука с сильным продыхом сама по себе вредна для голоса и ею следует пользоваться, по возможности, реже и очень осторожно. Иногда она требуется по ходу эмоционального настроя характерных партий в русских операх или драматических партий, особенно в операх веристов (Леонкавалло, Пуччини, Масканьи, Джордано и др.), но певец должен уметь применять эту манеру без вреда для голоса. Во всех случаях подача звука должна быть мягкой, без всякого силового нажима. Конечно, не следует смешивать эту мягкость с вялостью звучания, вследствие нездоровья или недостаточности певческого тонуса. Нельзя также путать манеру начала звука на стаккато с жесткой атакой - это различные приемы. Очень важно точное начало и выпевание заданной ноты - чистота интонирования. Многие певцы, не только любители и обучающиеся, но и опытные профессионалы, грешат «нечистым», неточным тоном. Приводим три основных случая неточного интонирования:

  • 1) Точно взятая нота «сползает» вверх или вниз, чаще вниз.
  • 2) Нота сразу берется нечисто.
  • 3) Певец не попадает сразу в нужную ноту, а перед ней слегка затрагивает другие как бы в виде форшлага или быстрого «подъезда».

Бороться с «грязным», неточным звучанием надо с самого начала занятий. Неточное интонирование чаще отмечается на верхних нотах, поэтому надо добиваться точного звучания сначала на середине голоса, постепенно расширяя исправляемый диапазон. Часто неточное звучание есть результат форсировки, и сразу прекращается при снятии последней. Иногда неточное звучание бывает результатом вялого звукообразования. Во всех случаях необходимо установить причину и после этого подбирать средства исправления.

Однако всегда надо приучать себя к четкому началу звучания в самой гортани и вырабатывать острый самоконтроль. В поддержании стабильной точности тона играет большую роль также правильное формирование звука и подстройка голосового аппарата.

<